Bettie Sellers Poetry Contest, 2014


Judging the 2014 Bettie Sellers Poetry contest is Chelsea Rathburn. Rathburn is author of two full-length poetry collections, A Raft of Grief, published by Autumn House Press in 2013, and The Shifting Line, winner of the 2005 Richard Wilbur Award, as well as a poetry chapbook, Unused Lines (Aralia Press, 2004). Her poems have appeared in The Atlantic, Poetry, The New Republic, The Threepenny Review, Ploughshares, and New England Review, and her prose has appeared in Creative Nonfiction. In 2009, she received a poetry fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts. A native of Miami, Florida, Chelsea now lives in Young Harris, Georgia, with her husband, the poet James Davis May, and their daughter, Adelyn. She is a professor of creative writing at Young Harris College.

The Byron Herbert Reece Society (BHRS) has established the first-ever Bettie Sellers Poetry Contest to recognize the Georgia Poet Laureate (1997-2000) and longtime faculty member of Young Harris College.  Bettie Sellers, the author of Wild Ginger, Liza’s Monday and Other Poems, Spring Onions and Cornbread, Morning of the Red Tailed Hawk, and The Bitter Berry: The Life of Byron Herbert Reece, taught at YHC for 32 years, was an expert on Byron Herbert Reece, and a charter member of the Byron Herbert Reece Society.

The winner of the contest will receive $300, and the winning poem will be published on the Byron Herbert Reece Society website,

Contest Rules
1) Submitted entries must be unpublished. Simultaneous entries are accepted, but please email us at immediately if your poem is accepted elsewhere. Manuscripts should be typed in a “plain” 12 point font (i.e. Times, Arial).  Photocopies are accepted.  Entries will not be returned, so do not send your only copy.

2) Entry fee is $5 for three poems. No identifying information should be on the poems. Contest entry fees cannot be refunded under any circumstances.

3) Each submission should be accompanied by an entry form. Poems without the entry form or fees will be disqualified.  A PDF file of the form is here. Poetry Contest Form

4) Contest winner will be announced and recognized at the annual meeting of the Byron Herbert Reece Society, May 31, 2014. Cash prize is $300 and the winning poet is invited to read at the meeting.

5) Contest results will be announced on the Society’s website after May 31, 2014.  Email notification will be sent to contest entrants if a working email address is included on the entry form.  Contest results will only be announced online and by email. Please check our website for results:

6) Deadline for postmark is Friday, May 2, 2014. Any entry that is not postmarked on or before that date will not be opened.  Failure to follow any of the above guidelines could result in disqualification.  Do not send the only copy of your work as all entries will be recycled.

7) Board members of the Byron Herbert Reece Society are ineligible to enter, but members of the Society are invited to participate.

Byron Herbert Reece Society
2014 Poetry Contest
Entry Form



City, State, Zip: ___________________________________________


Telephone: _______________________________________

Names of poems submitted (do not place identifying information on actual poems):




Mail this form, a check or money order for $5 (for each set of 3 poems) to the Byron Herbert Reece Society: Byron Herbert Reece Society
P. O. Box 811
Young Harris GA 30582


Leave a comment

Filed under Farm, Poetry

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s